This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page | Sign In | Register
Press Releases and TTIA Member News: Alliance News

TTIA Elects New Board of Directors & Officers for 2016 - 2017

Wednesday, October 19, 2016  
Posted by: TTIA
Share |

Press Release - For Immediate Release


TTIA Elects New Members to Board of Directors 
and Officers for 2016 - 2017


(Austin, TX), October 19, 2016 – The Texas Travel Industry Association (TTIA) has elected new officers and new members to its board of directors for the 2016-2017 term. The board of directors is comprised of individuals representing many different segments of the travel and tourism industry within Texas. The new chair of the association is Jim Brothers, Director of Marketing, Six Flags Over Texas. The immediate past chair, Davis Phillips, CEO, Phillips Entertainment, Inc., will continue to serve on the board’s executive committee. Casandra Matej, Executive Director, San Antonio Convention & Visitors Bureau, is now chair-elect. Brandon Steinmann, Vice President Global Government Relations, WorldVentures, will serve as treasurer and John Osborne, CEO, Visit Lubbock will serve as secretary. David Teel, President and CEO of TTIA also sits on the executive committee.

Four new members join the board of directors to serve three-year terms as at-large members:  Keith Arnold, Executive Director, South Padre Island Convention & Visitors Bureau; Bryan Crowe, CEO, Destination El Paso; Kelly DeSchaun, Executive Director, Galveston Island Park Board of Trustees & Convention & Visitors Bureau; and Dr. Chay Runnels, Associate Professor/Program Coordinator/Hospitality Coordinator, Stephen F. Austin State University.

Board members re-elected for an additional three year term include: Larry Woods, Director, Boerne Convention & Visitors Bureau; Bob Jameson, President & CEO, Fort Worth Convention & Visitors Bureau; Arthur Coulombe, General Manager, J W Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa.

“TTIA is honored to have these distinguished leaders serve on our executive committee and board,” said David Teel, TTIA President and CEO, following the association’s 31st Annual Texas Travel Summit. “With this board’s vision and guidance, TTIA improves the quality of life in Texas by strengthening travel and tourism. This board is comprised of key industry leaders poised to lead our association and its members through another successful legislative session and beyond.”

# # #


The Texas Travel Industry Association (TTIA) is a non-profit organization made up of businesses, organizations, associations and individuals dedicated to developing Texas tourism to its fullest potential. TTIA’s mission is to improve the quality of life in Texas by strengthening travel and tourism. For more information about the Texas Travel Industry Association, visit or contact the office in Austin at (512) 328-8842.